Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Just the job - Rating 4/5

Found myself needing to find accommodation at short notice while visiting a relative in Torbay Hospital. Thee reviews and price made Glenorleigh seem a good choice and I wasn’t wrong! I was the only guest and only gave about half an hour’s notice of my booking but nothing was too much trouble. Nice room, not huge but I only booked a single, with very clean modern en-suite. Massive tasty breakfast.

Response

Hi Nigel,Thank you so much for your kind review .Regards.Kelly

Reviewer:Nigel E | Sat 6th Apr 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Warm welcome and great Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Travelling on business, I normally use the Premier Inn in Torquay but a review I saw on the Glenorleigh convinced me to have a change.The owner was very welcoming, room spotless and very comfortable -Cooked breakfast was one of the best I have had at any guest house or hotel.Would definitely stay here again.

Response

Hi Paul.Thank you so much for your kind review and look forward to seeing you again.Kindest Regards.Kelly

Reviewer:p | Fri 29th Mar 2019 | 3 weeks ago


What a hostess! - Rating 5/5

What a brilliant find! Came across this little gem online and choose it because of the amazing reviews and the ability to be able to have a family of 5 in one room.We were not disappointed. Lovely decor in our room and all communal area. Kelly was an amazing hostess who had everything in hand throughout. It was lovely how she engaged with the children as well as us!The bar and pool table were a nice addition which my 7yr old loved (the pool table not the bar!) Breakfast was amazing. Lovely choice off fruit cereals and yogurts before getting down to the all important cooked! I enjoyed both full English and the following morning smoked salmon. Superb!Look forward to coming back when the pool is back in play!!

Reviewer:tim1651, T | Thu 1st Nov 2018 | 5 months ago


Home away from home! - Rating 5/5

Such a beaut hotel, Kelley makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive! I came to The Glenorleigh and stayed for a week. The rooms had everything you could need and the bed was super comfy! I couldn’t recommend this place more, it’s in an ideal location just a short walk from the main high street and beach front. Hopefully I’ll be back again sometime!

Response

Ahhhh,Thank you so much for the lovely Review and yes I hope to see you again once you have made your millions🤞😊.Wishing you the best of luck in your new venture.Kindest Regards.Kelly

Reviewer:Liliana B, T | Wed 31st Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


A really comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Spacious comfortable bed. Corner bath was a nice surprise.Really enjoyed the pool in the evening.Lovely fresh fruit salad at breakfast. Good location with only 20 min walk to the front and nice quiet neighbourhood.

Reviewer:Catherine T | Tue 20th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Superb stay - Rating 5/5

Greeted by lovely hosts who we're most helpfulRoom lovely with all facilities I neededSwimming pool and nice relaxing area outsideRecommend places to eat and offered to drive me thereBreakfast was great lots of choice and fresh fruit salad was delicious overall a great find

Reviewer:wendy w | Thu 15th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

ExcellentLike being at home.nice to se people that care and go out of there way to make your stay even better.

Reviewer:Fred O | Tue 6th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Our mini break - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming cosy family friendly. Would'nt hesitate to bring grandkids when they are a bit older.Situated in a quiet road away from the noise of traffic.

Reviewer:Keith D | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Gary - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome, nice and quiet location with a superb breakfast and excellent value

Reviewer:Gary Wyn P | Mon 29th May 2017 | 1 year ago


one Saturday night stay in TORQUAY - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely re-furbished room , great shower and tea/coffee/facilities , really comfy bed and lovely linen . great breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay , the owners are real people person orientated and very passionate about their b and b , hopefully next time we can use the swimming pool!

Reviewer:MR RACE W | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


The Glenorleigh - Rating 5/5

I made the reservations here for a group of 12 attending a conference in Torquay. What an excellent choice! We were warmly welcomed, the facilities were exactly as described and the breakfasts were great. I'm sure we will be re-booking when the conference returns to Torquay in 2 year's time.

Reviewer:Eve B | Wed 22nd Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Thoroughly comfortable & friendly - Rating 5/5

We had 2 of our guys stay with you for 1 night whilst on business and they thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Said it was comfortable and very friendly, they would love to stay again. Thank You

Reviewer:Profile Glazing Systems Ltd| Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

hospitality above and beyond. lovely people . great customer relations would recommend to anyone to stay there outstanding.

Reviewer:Michaela O | Tue 22nd Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Fine place to stay - Rating 4/5

Welcoming and friendly, I would recommend Glenorleigh to anyone looking for a clean and pleasant stay in Torquay.

Reviewer:Phil S | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


the glenorleigh - Rating 5/5

very good brekie very good host very clean &nice place to stay.

Reviewer:David A | Fri 21st Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


An excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

An excellent place to stay, clean, tidy and very friendly hosts. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, whether staying on business or for leisure. The location is also very handy for shopsand he seafront is only a 10 minute walk. I would give this hotel a five star rating

Reviewer:Neville R | Wed 12th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed for three nights, I found the room very comfortable.The breakfast was very well cooked, it was freshly cooked. The owners are very friendly

Reviewer:Rachel H | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


just what I needed for a one night stopover - Rating 5/5

very good value, a warm welcome, comfortable bed, fully functioning WiFi &TV, everything spotlessly clean, OK maybe the decor and colour of the bathroom suite was somewhat dated but that's reflected in the price. Would be very happy to stay again.

Reviewer:Graham S | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Very Very Good - Rating 4/5

I stayed one night in Torquay, It was loverly hotel with a fantastic lounge and sitting area. Also the breakfast was very tasty and they even gave me and extra left over sausage so thumbs up to Glenorleigh.

Reviewer:Benjamin G | Sun 2nd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Delightful hosts. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mark C | Thu 29th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Fabulous acommodation and hosts. Lovely and clean and very friendly and helpful. Thanks for having me xx

Reviewer:Gill B | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Glenorleigh - Rating 5/5

Can't speak more highly of this fantastic couple really friendly, helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice fresh fruit salad and full English cooked fresh and more. The newly refurbished bar / breakfast area looks fantastic and yes rooms are a bit dated but they were clean and tidy .I can't wait to stay again and to see the rooms when they are all updated which are being done this winter. Anyone coming to Torquay should definitely come here you won't regret it. In there own words spot on.😀

Reviewer:Natalie P | Sat 24th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


An Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Make you feel at home

Reviewer:Cy W | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


lovely guest house with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely stay at the glenorleigh- only stayed for one night but would definitely go back and would be happy to recommend it to my friends. Arrived to a warm, friendly welcome and a comfortable room. Good location, close to the centre of Torquay.Amazing breakfast in the morning and just an overall smiley place to visit!!

Reviewer:Mandy R | Sun 18th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


The Glenorleigh - Rating 5/5

An excellent place to stay. the room is veryclean and a comfortable bed. The food is delicious. The hosts are friendly and very helpful.

Reviewer:Marion J | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend Stay. - Rating 5/5

I arrived at The Glenorleigh for a short break on 09/09/2016. The Hotel is comfortable throughout, clean, and the staff very helpful and attentive. My Hotel of Choice for Torquay. Excellent standards.Anthony Alexandrowicz,https://cotswoldsworld.com/

Reviewer:Anthony A | Tue 13th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Best Hotel in Torquay - Rating 5/5

I did not stay at the Glenorleigh, I organised it for my husband and 3 friends who where going to a football match.They were all delighted with their stay and would all most definitely insist on booking again the next time Lincoln visit Torquay. The owners could not have been more helpful and accommodating, even driving the four of them into town after checking in.They had four single rooms and they were all comfortable, breakfast was delicious, no complaints at all. Brilliant

Reviewer:Carol P | Tue 13th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


review - Rating 5/5

Most enjoyable break. We hope to come again.

Reviewer:Barbara L | Fri 9th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


We\'ll be back - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time at the Glenorleigh, enjoying a superb breakfast, afternoons at the pool and pleasant evenings at the bar.The hosts did everything to offer us relaxed holidays.

Reviewer:Robert M | Thu 18th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


perfect- Rating 5/5

made to feel very welcome and comfortable. will definitely recommend to family and friends.

Reviewer:Sean St J | Sat 13th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Friendly & comfotable in a quiet location - Rating 5/5

Made to feel welcome.Nice comfotable room.Excellent breakfast.Host currently upgrading decor.

Reviewer:Gary A | Wed 10th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, great hosts, super location. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and will be back to see the full refurbishment on our next visit to Devon.

Reviewer:Adrian D | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Friendly, spacious and excellent - Rating 5/5

Great friendly staff, large spacious and comfortable rooms, would recommend to all who want to visit Torquay, close to beach and shops, breakfast was great, parking was a little tight but not problematic

Reviewer:Stefan K | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Torquay holiday at Glenorleigh- Rating 5/5

We had a great time, enjoyed very much, service was excellent, we will definitely come back next year!

Reviewer:Iulian C | Sun 7th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Working stay - Rating 4/5

Made to feel welcome selection of fruit cereal or cooked breakfast available.Everywhere clean and tidy my only moan would be the shower needs upgrading.Would stay again.

Reviewer:Thomas P | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


lovely short stay - Rating 5/5

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the glenorleigh and wished we could have stayed longer. My husband and i had a premier room with a 4 poster bed and the room was lovely, our seventeen year old daughter had her own en-suite double and we only paid for a single room for her, so we were more than happy with that. The lounge and bar area and dining area were also really nice , as was the heated pool. The breakfasts were truly excellent with a fruit salad and a full english. The hotel itself was located perhaps just a little further away from the harbour area than we had anticipated ,but it helped to walk off that lovely breakfast and walking in was all downhill, and taxi back if legs were tired was only a fiver. The whole experience was really good and hard to find fault with. Owners were very friendly , hotel was very good value for money. Would certainly stay there again.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.Kind regardsKelly & John

Reviewer:Gaynor P | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Really lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly owners who went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and fun. Accommodation is at a high standard and super clean. Breakfast is prompt and delicious. Happy to recommend.

Response

Thank you Lynsay, it was a pleasure to have you here and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.Kind regardsKelly & John

Reviewer:Lynsay A | Fri 29th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


one of the best - Rating 5/5

I have stayed in torquay a lot over the years and i must say that glenorleigh has been the most welcoming comfortable hotels i have had the pleasure to stay in very well equiped really clean close enough to the town to walk but far enough away to get a quiet nights sleep i would highly recomend this quality hotel to anyone i cant fault it in anyway

Response

Thank you for your review and comments. We are glad that you had a nice time with us at The Glenorleigh.Kind regardsKelly & John

Reviewer:Gerald W | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent Value - Rating 5/5

Just a one night stay but enough to be impressed with the warm and friendly welcome and pristine accommodation. Very good value. Definitely encouraged me to visit again for family holiday.

Reviewer:Alan R | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic Time - Rating 5/5

Can not put into words the wonderful time i had at the glenorleigh. The owners are such lovely people and nothing was to much troubleFantastic time will be back there as soon a i am able.

Reviewer:Terry R | Sat 18th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A clean, nice place with lovely hosts

Reviewer:Jan S | Fri 17th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful stay and hospitality - Rating 5/5

We loved the breakfast on the terrace, and the staff went out of their way to have the pool perfect and stay most enjoyable. We'll be back!

Reviewer:Alistair L | Tue 31st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Glenorleigh - Rating 5/5

When we got there the welcome we received was lovely with a pot of tea and biscuits which was very welcome We really enjoyed our stay it was very clean the food was lovely the owners were really friendly and helpfully we will defiantly be staying again it's a favourite

Reviewer:Jean M | Wed 25th May 2016 | 2 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Kelly the landlady was very helpful, and her husband very friendly. The front door bell wasn't working when I arrived, so had to phone.The room was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good, choice of cereal and fruit to start and I had a lovely full English to finish.If I travel this way again I will definitely book again.

Reviewer:John S | Wed 25th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly recommend - Rating 5/5

Lovely room,food and welcome.

Reviewer:Jane S | Tue 10th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic place - Rating 5/5

Nicest place we have had the pleasure of staying in. Lovely owners with a great personal touch. Amazing breakfast. Will return again very soon.

Reviewer:Andrew P | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm reception from the owners. Couldnt be more helpful. 100% will stay again 10/10 breakfast too

Reviewer:Sam M | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


an excellent stay - Rating 5/5

An amazing stay. Catching a morning train, we arrived earlier than our check-in time, yet our room was already prepared. A quiet stay, followed by a great breakfast served at out table the next morning. Since there was no follow up booking for the room we were allowed to extend our check out time. A friendly and relaxed atmosphere indeed!

Reviewer:Elina A | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


super - Rating 5/5

Had a great time,friendly and welcoming people, excellent food/rooms,will definitely go there again

Response

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again.Kind regardsJohn & Kelly

Reviewer:Mr. Peter E | Wed 27th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Very friendly hosts - Rating 5/5

Excellent accomodation. Excellent hosts. As they have written on wall "you arrive as a guest but leave as a friend"No negatives at all

Response

It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to seeing you agin sometime. ThanksKind regardsKelly & John

Reviewer:Helen S | Mon 25th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Short stay at short notice. - Rating 5/5

We booked 2 rooms at short notice and were delighted with the lovely accommodation at the Glenorleigh.Friendly, helpful people, scrummy breakfast and just 5 mins walk to a range of places to have evening meals;what else could you ask!

Reviewer:Dr. James S | Mon 4th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice Break - Rating 5/5

Very nice location, very pleasant landlord and land lady!

Response

Thank you for your reveiw. Glad you enjoyed your stay.Kind regardsJohn & Kelly

Reviewer:Joseph H | Mon 4th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Easter weekend- Rating 5/5

Thank you both for a lovely time the room was just perfect lovely couple hope to see you soon Marc and louise

Response

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to do this review.Kind regardsKelly and John

Reviewer:Mr. marc b | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


4.9
Very Good

53 reviews

5
91%
4
9%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%